It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing a

A main character in Our Time, the most welcome Taiwanese movie, said "We are the only one who can define ourselves." It seems that some people believe that we could always define ourselves instead of our social group. However, since human beings are social animals, we actually need emotional bonding for life; thus the point of the statement is convincing and persuadable.

People need to communicate with others, and those who we get along with can always form who we are. That is to say, people tend to do things properly in their social group in order that others will prove them and be fond of them. For example, An American TV show, gossip girl, vividly shows the life of the rich living in the upper east side of New York. The main character Serena always tried not to act like a rich. However, what she wore were all about Chanel, Dior, and what she talked about were all related to summer vacations in Paris. That is because she is living in a millionaire family, the people she lived with all behaved elegantly and sometimes pompously.

In addition, people like to imitate others, and social group is a optimal learning environment for us. For example, when I was at senior high school, most of students at that time liked to wear Converse shoes as it was a kind of avant-grade symbol. I got several Converse shoes even I did not feel comfortable when wearing them. But I was proud to be a "Converse walker" in high school. For another example,

Admittedly, some critics argue that people can still decide the way they want to be as human have consciousness, they can chose to become who they are, especially when they are in lower social status. For example, the prior Taiwan president, Chen Sui Ban, grew up in a poor and rural village of south Taiwan. His mom always told him he should go ahead to work after graduation. Nevertheless, he dedicated himself to study and successfully entered the top university in Taiwan; after several contributions in his political party, he finally became Taiwan president.

To sum it up, most people still tend to behave like where they belong, though some people who are in bad condition will try to get rid of their group and define themselves with their own motivation.