It’s not possible for someone to effectively care for others unless they are taking good care of themselves.

A person who cares for someone is truly a blessing to have around. With the tireless and selfless efforts, one indulge themselves in such noble activity. Here, the claim is made it's not possible for someone to effectively care for others unless they are taking good care of themselves and I mostly agree with this assertion. It is the first and foremost priority to take care of oneself so that one can take care of others.

Firstly, a person in tempestuousness and state of chaos can't take care of others in efficacious manner. Even if the efforts are made to take care of others in such state of mind, it is certain that it would go in vain and won't be efficacious. Furthermore, in current scenario, where the issues of mental health has been emerging issue pervaded throughout the world, it is the utmost priority to take care of oneself to take good care of other people. Based on this idea, In Australia, Greenwood Old-age Home conducts weekly health assessment of their health workers to ensure the physical and mental well being of their workers so that they could take proper care of the senile people in the old-age home.

Secondly, on a broader picture, we can see a country with an instability of government can't address the issues of its citizen and often doesn't seem to step up to provide the aid during the global crisis too. There are many pertinent examples in the history itself and the economic crisis resulted by the same. The major downfall of Japan's economy after the Second World War took decades to recover. The political chaos in Nepal after the fall of Monarchy has impeded many of the development activities. Therefore, it should be the motto of everyone to take care of themselves first so that they could take care of others. If we see the numbers and figures of the donation received in the United Nations, the countries who are prosperous are often the leading doners in the leaderboard. This also suggests that they can give a helping hand because they are satiate and complacent. The most germane example is that Would you donate a money, albeit petty amount to needy you see outside your door when you are in the recession and money crisis? It explains itself.

However, there might be few examples where one has been taking care of others despite oneself being in jeopardy. The Bhutanese Refugee were under the hood of Government of Nepal and India for several years. Later when the economy of the respective nations began to feel the burden of those refugees they were sent back to Bhutan by involvement of various retinues, emissaries, and diplomats between the respective nations. Thus, it suggests that one can't provide proper care if itself is in jeopardy.

Lastly, from the various examples mention aboveboard it is evident that one can't take care of others if itself isn't in the state of well being and prosperous. It would be better if everyone start taking care of themselves so that they could be a go-to person when someone is in need.