The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The President of Humana University has stated that by promoting the online degree programs like those at Omni University, they could ensure the increment in enrollment of students and solve the problems of budget deficit at Humana University. This argument is based on the efficacious result obtained in Omni University. However, several unwarranted assumptions have been made by the president. The president assumed that the conditions of Humana University and Omni University is entirely similar. Another assumption made by him is addition of online class would guarantee the increment in enrollment of students. Also, he has assumed that the budget deficit at Humana University is mainly because of the huge money spent on maintenance every year. When these unwarranted assumptions taken as a whole, render argument highly suspect.

Firstly, the president of Humana University has assumed that promotion of online degree programs at Humana University would cause increment in enrollment of students. He has provided the reference of Omni University to strengthen his claim. Yet, there is no supportive assertions to claim that by following the footsteps of Omni University, it would guarantee the efficacious results to Humana University as well. The students at Omni University might have their own reasons for the preferences of online degree programs while such might not be the case in Humana University. Without having additional information in this topic, the argument couldn't be validated.

Secondly, the President has assumed the addition of online class would result in increment of enrollment. The increment of enrollment of students cardinally depends on several parameters. The enrollment at Omni University might have increased due to other factors like good faculty members, good placement post study, shrewd research works being carried out in the University. Unless the president provides supportive claims to assert that addition of online class is sole reason for the increment of enrollment of students, the argument falls apart.

Lastly, the president has assumed that the cost of budget deficit in the Humana University is because of huge money being spent on maintenance of buildings. There might be several other expenditures that aren't being accounted or held responsible for the budget deficit at Humana University. Without any further information regarding this matter, the president has made the baseless assumption of budget deficit resulted by the yearly maintenance of building.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions made by the president of the Humana University. If the President could provide suitable explanations to the abovementioned assumptions to support his claim, it'd have been possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed recommendations.