Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Most of the universities these days advertise themselves as the one having the extra-curricular activities being conducted timely to attract the students while admission. However, if a choice is to be made for funding whether the classes or library or any other sports and social activities, classes and libraries should always be the utmost priority in the university. I believe so based on the following reasons.

Firstly, The primary purpose of the university is to teach the students who are devoured for knowledge. Those students attend the university with the aim to study the majors and pursue their career in respective fields. In addition to this, there are other group of students who are willing to take part in the research activities and discover new and peculiar aspects which aren't visible through normal perspective. Thus, it'd be unfair to such students who are attending the university with the aim of making advancements in their life by learning the subjects and major which they yearned for. By curtailing the funds that should be spent in quality faculty members and classrooms, libraries and research activities and using it in sports and social activities is quite futile task to do.

Secondly, The barometer for the touting the university as successful is primarily by the academic results of the students studying in that university. This will help in increment of good will of the university and act as a tool to lure more students in successive intakes. For instance, If US News published the list of successful universities and ranked them in the order of their academic successes, it is likely that top universities will be inundated with application in the coming intakes. Thus, this might also benefit university economically.

However, while maintaining that academics should be the first preferences, it doesn't necessarily mean that the sports and social activities should be ruled out completely. Sports and social activities certainly help the students to deviate themselves from the hectic and tedious academic environment of the university and provide refreshment. The sports and social activities should be funded too but it'd be unconscionable to fund them in equal amount to that of academic related activities. If a student is highly intrigued to be involved in sports activity and social activities, they might join the sports academy or social organizations filled with likeminded people of theirs.

Hence, while juxtaposing the academic related activities and sports or social activities to prioritize the funding, it would be prudent to fund more on the academic activities as it is the primary and foremost objective of the university.