Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years, there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The car has been prominent means of transportation in the modern days. With the advancement in technologies, several sophisticated and facilitated cars are available in the market. People have been using it for several purposes like commuting to work, traveling to an expedition, or jaunts. Hence, it has been an inexorable part of our life. At this instant, if someone mentions that these cars are going to be lesser in the coming future, it will seem like a heretic opinion. Yet, I agree with this.

Firstly, the increased number of cars have been a major problem in traffic management. Thus, to cope with this issue the government of my country has come up with a plan. The public is being encouraged to use local buses and metros which could accommodate a significantly higher number of passengers in a much lesser area. The study suggests that in 360 square meters, cars could accommodate 50 passengers while a bus could accommodate 180 passengers. Moreover, people are also supportive enough for this change. On top of that, the government has been meticulously redesigning the routes and tracks of public transportation like buses and metros to cover the most part of the city. If one could access their destination easily via public transport, they'll likely take the option of public transport as it is cheaper and avoid the painstaking task of driving all the way long.

Secondly, the car runs on non-renewable resources like petroleum fuels and the use of solar-powered cars isn't pervaded as per the expectation. With the growing concerns of the adverse effects of non-renewable resources on the environment, the use of cars is being discouraged. One of the very eminent instances of this issue is of Hummer car of GM Motors, United States. In 2009, people or we could even call them extremist people started a campaign of destroying the Hummer cars. Several Hummer cars on parking lots, garages were destroyed. Consequently, GM Motors put an end to the production of the car variant. This incident which occurred 10 years ago could be a harbinger of similar instances that might occur in the coming future. Several environmentalists have been arguing time and again to reduce the use of cars operating on non-renewable resources and have an impeccable point to argue with.

To conclude, despite the use of the car is prominent in today's time, it might not be surprising if it gradually fades away with time in the coming future.