k

The contention that a society should instill a sense of cooperation rather than competition in young people in not a trivial one. It is not uncommon for a society to teach its youth how to cooperate with others. The prompt suggests that a society should teach its young people how to cooperate instead of how to compete in order to prepare them for leadership roles in many fields. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion for two reasons.

To begin with, competition is an integral part of our lives. We are taught how to compete with others from a very young age and the sense of competition is carried out with us throughout our lives. For instance, a student in a school studies hard and does his best to receive excellent grades in order to be the top of his class. This student competes with all his classmates in order for him to be the top of his class. Such example shows how competition is instilled in us from school until the rest of our lives.

Further, competition prepares people for leadership roles more than cooperation does. Although, as a leader on must cooperate with others it is more important for a leader to know how to compete with others. Therefore, a society should instill a sense of competition rather than cooperation in young individuals. For instance, a student who wants to go to Harvard in order to become the future's top scientist, they begin their competition process from high school. In this society, a top university such as Harvard requires high GPA and high SAT scores. Thus, a student who knows how to compete better than other students have a higher chance getting into Harvard than others. Therefore, competition is the only way in this society for individuals to become great leaders.

In conclusion, a society should instill a sense of competition rather than cooperation in its young people. How else would an individual get elected to be a president of the United States? By competing against other candidates of course. Thus, the person who is better at competition than the other is the one to win the election. Therefore, competition is very important in leadership roles.