The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests that they should dedicate a greater share of its budget for advertisement in order to gain more public publicity. However, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following two questions must be addressed.

Do the positive reviews discuss the content of the Super Screen movies? Perhaps the positive reviews received simply discuss the quality of the movies. Or perhaps, the positive reviews discuss how the Super Screen-produced movies are only available in specific theaters that offer comfortable seats but do not talk about the content of the movie and thus, people reading the positive reviews do not have a clear idea of how good the movies are. If either of the above scenarios proves true, then the conclusion drawn by the original argument does not hold water.

Would advertising the movies result in an increase in viewers? Perhaps the content of the movies are not preferred by most individuals and thus, seeing the advertisements will certainly assure that for most people. Or perhaps, the content of the movie is more preferred by older viewers and many do not have time to go watch the movies. if either of the above is true the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the two questions and provide more evidence, then it might be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the suggestion to allocate greater share of its budget for advertisements.