Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As our race of human-beings progress more and more into this world, the laws are becoming more intricate and evolving to a better form. The prompt suggests that laws should not be a stringent set of rules, it should be more malleable when eclectic times, spaces, and circumstances are considered. I mostly agree with this opinion, but also acknowledge that it does have a few drawbacks.

At first, we should look into our history, when draconian laws were strictly applied. We do not have to back in pre-historic times, we can glimpse into the mid 16th-17th centuries, when the priests were the authoritative figures in the society. Galileo, one of the pantheons of science, were a proponent of Copernicus's idea of Sun being the center of the solar system. Up until Nicolas Copernicus, who looked into the sky with not so technologically cutting edge, but rather a austere telescope, he saw a discrepancy between the planetary motions. Only by placing Sun in the center, these miscalculations go away, with the help of Keplar's mathematical background, Copernicus developed a logical Heliocentric or sun centered solar system. But his society's authoritative figures condemned him, renounced him for his book about this idea. After a quite some time, Galileo realized that Copernicus's idea was correct. Therefore, he tried to support this idea publicly. The priests again came forward to prosecute Galileo; As punishments, He had to announce that this idea was incorrect and was locked into his home until his death. This was a powerful exercise of law at that time. Even now, in some countries, science is looked down upon and many scientific minded people are prosecuted due to these kind of laws. Ergo, laws should not be so rigid.

Additionally, there are phenomenons where laws have to flexible inorder to have a fair and unbiased prosecutions. For example, a blind man may run into the street in red light, and cause a small havoc. If a street police arrests him and treats him similarly to a thug who intentinally ran into red light is not fair. If a human is in dire need of medical assistance and he parked his car in "no parking" zone because he was in a hurry. And if he were to be charged for this petty crime, is not morally correct.

However, there will always be people who will try to take advantage of a flexible set of laws. Before making such flexibility to the laws, there should be a exhaustive research behind every laws. So that, the sordid people can not have the opportunity to get the better off from the laws.

In conclusion, as inflexible laws are responsible for the sufferings of innocent people, making them too flexible is not a good idea also. There should be a perfect balance between them, which should be achieved.