Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises a very controversial issue of whether, demands create leaders or not. Indisputably, it is possible that the demands might create leaders. But, it is not necessary that every time it is true. Thus, I would disagree with the author and would like to argue that it is not necessary that only demands creates leaders. This fact can be exemplified by many examples evident in the past.

Firstly, it is not necessary that only the demands placed on people creates leaders. To illustrate this let us take an example of Maharana Pratap of Chittodgarh. He was surely a leader of the Marathas and people loved him. Though, he lost the war with Akbar, the Mughal leader. But, people of the Chittodgarh loved him and therefore, they gave him everything for fulfilling the needs of the battle. Thus, this sites an excellent example that leaders might not be created by the demands that are placed on them. Instead, this might be a quality developed with time.

Secondly, there might be some people that are good leaders but there are no demands placed on them during their time. Though due to their intelligence and their expertise in the affairs makes them good leaders. For example, Akbar, the Mughal leader, is very highly praised for the works that he carried out as Mughal leader. He is remembered as one of the most kindest leaders of India. Albeit, no demands were placed on him during his time. But, he emerged to be a great leader and during his reign the Mughal Empire flourished the best.

Admittedly, there are some leaders who are born because of the demands that must be fulfilled. Leaders like, Chatrapati Shivaji, Leader of the Marathas, was one brave leader. During, the times when the Mughal Empire was establishing hegemony on the Marathas, he guided the Maratha Empire which showed growth under his leadership. Hence, there are examples of the leaders that are formed by the demands inculcated on them. But, it is not necessary for all the leaders.

To sum up, the contention of the author is indefensible. As it contrary to the overwhelming evidence that to be the leader it is not necessary that demands must be placed on him. As it is presumed that Leaders are born, not made. Thus, as long as some measurements are performed, or some cases are involved the conclusion that it is not necessary that the leaders are created by the demands being placed on them.