Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

The author attempts to stress the function of personal discipline that is trivial to school's influence on learners in the learning progress. I agree that statement to some degree,due to the school can provide students with essential places, namely, laboratory, playground, music hall and painting room, and at the same time, the tutors to lead you into various learning areas and the companionship with peers,all of that are important to someone's learning experience. But school or college alone are not enough to ensure the motivation of study, because different people have different minds, and only in that way, school play different roles in different students' life.

Undoubtedly,school or college weighs a lot in a learner's life,due to that the school can provide students with apparatus and equipments. For instance,a student are determined devoted into science and experiments, he can be satisfied with the laboratory and precise equipments in school that can not practice easily outside. A student are always dreaming to be a pianist but can not afford it, his road may start at school. And someone are good at sports, can be motivated into the summit to win with the synthesis disciplines from coach and appropriate pressure from the peers. School plays a seemingly inevitable role in the most students' learning life.

Nevertheless,school is not a panacea to the success on learning,because the spirits varies from one to one,and the objects of learning in not limited in books.School's education aim is preparing students with knowledge for the adaption of future social life,but some valuable experience like special regulation of particular job,the cultivation of social relationship sometimes determine whether you can fulfill a task and the practitioner skills etc, which can not be taught by teachers in a common lessons or a discipline. That only can be acquired by yourselves disciplines and attention on details day by day,on that way school seems not effective in study.

But self-study is not fit to everyone like school discipline,for the students have strong will and interest on particular area can understand the relative knowledge effectively by himself, school lessons seems rather inflexible even a waste of time,for that,self discipline is quite important and the motivation from school is not monotonous. While many students like a close friend of mine, she does not know what she is really interested in and can not control herself in the free time before go to college, even into the college,she is actually fight for her definite goal after exchange into another specialized subject. For those students,school or college is necessary of learning process.

On above,part of the author's statement is common and realistic,given the differences among various students, there is not a normal regulation or system can fit all of those people,students can not be motivated by scholl of college alone or by himself alone.