The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning f

The author has stated luxuries and conveniences of modern era as boon to development of the individuals. Since evolution if the mankind, we humans have striven to improve ourselves and this complex world- we line in today- is a testimony to that progress. Yes, it is true that some modern life luxuries and self-aid has thwarted the physical growth of humans but at the same time it also true that the urge for same luxury and convenience has devoted to the cognitive development. In my opinion mental growth has far more reaching impacts than physical.

For first, one’s opinion on the argument depends on his or her perception of the strong and independent individuals. One person might take it as physical strength and biologically fit to be self-dependent, while other may think of it as more socially than biologically. In any case there are evidences that people are way more developed and independent now than ever before. Consider for example, a person may encounter conveniences in his day to day life- using clock alarm to wake up, taking a metro to commute to office, more likely using computer at work and a cell phone to make calls. To me all those dependencies are, more or less, the necessity of life in today’s world rather than luxury. In fact, with the aid of modernization people can manage to spare time for themselves. They can utilize the saved time in their social life, salubrious activities and to ponder on secrets of life.

On the contrary, there are indeed some activities that can be categorized as the luxury. Consumption of alcohol and smoking, for instance, has become one of the most eminent social elements of the life. It is believed that 60% of the youth is indulged in the alcohol consumption, in some or other way. In addition to that, due to the economic growth of a country people find themselves more deeply entrenched in luxury and there by neglecting the need of fitness. For example, people have switched to dine at the luxurious restaurants rather than cook at home. This consumption of junk food is having serious consequences on the health of people.

In conclusion, there are pros and cons to every situation but in my opinion the modern-day luxuries and conveniences can also be utilized for leading a purposeful and healthy life. Undeniably, elements of modern-day life, if exercised seemly, can transform people lives by making them more self-reliant and stronger than precedent events.