The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

It’s commonly accepted that the study of history is necessary for every person who wants to have an all-around development. The statement holds the view that people learn history to reveal that people living now are virtually similar with the people living in earlier times. While this claim might initially sound somewhat plausible, I can not totally agree with it.

To begin with, I must express my appreciation for this perspective. It’s true that we can learn a lot from the events before. History does not repeat itself, but it often rhymes, says Kempe. We can always find that the most significant events remembered by people have something in common more or less. Just like a dynasty would be overthrown because of their last incapable emperor. Therefore, the later leaders acknowledged that some behaviors would be deadly to their authority. By doing so, the emerging head can always reflect their own words and performances to bring a more robust country. That being said, I have to point out that the problem is overly simplified in above discussions.

However, as time go through, things are bound to change. I believe that everyone, even my opponents, wouldn’t deny that contemporary life has changed significantly compared with earlier times. In such a mercurial era, we may have a outright different lifestyle with few years ago. For example, it may be discountable for people to imagine the life with a phone only ten years ago. However, with the invention of mobile payment, we almost forget to take some cash around. In most cases, we can deal with all of the things with our phone only. The same logic applies to the military field. The government might have to worry about their message passenger’s credit at first, but we may concern more about the technology to guarantee our message transmitted by internet nowadays. From this point of view, it seems redundant to learn people’s behavior in earlier times in some situations.

Consequently, while both of the views above have merit. I argue that they are not necessarily mutually exclusive. We can get not only some specific methods but also some general thoughts from history. It’s no doubt that we can learn something useful from the monarchy, although all of us acclaims for democracy at present. However, the significance of history learning depends on the way we choose, but not the history itself. We should always base on our own situations, and get the helpful information from the written history. With this mind, we will get a huge amount of example to study. Not only the ways we should emulate, but also the mistakes we should avoid.

To sum up, it will be oversimplified to decide the history learning’s main benefits. Since the study of history is comprehensive, the advantages of it requires more deliberation.