During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest.

In the argument the author concludes that the work shifts should be shortened to avoid the higher rate of on-the-job accidents. At first glance, the writer’s argument seems convincing to certain extent. However, with closer look, there seems to be some flaws in their line of reasoning.

First of all, the arguer says that the nearby Panoply’s workers comparatively have 30 percent less on-the-job accidents. He tries to prove that his factory should learn something from Panoply. The author falsely assumes that the presented 30 percent lower rate means less on-the-job accidents in Panoply. H...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.