The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

People today are still eager to know facts about how humans lived in olden times. Their behavior, dress code, their food consumption habits, art forms etc. are few elements people today have tried to understand in depth about human beings what they used to follow in past and how are they replicated or changed today. All these elements have changed over a period of time due to changes in the behavior and way people think.

Few decades back from now, people have taken efforts to excavate articles used by humans in past. People have found out utensils, sculptures, paintings, artifacts etc what humans had used during that period. After observing all these old utensils, the utensils now used by common man can be easily differentiated from them. Today, to cook food man has made utensils made up of alloys like brass and copper, which act as good conductor of heat. Previously, coal was used to run the engines of trains, but, today trains run on electricity. People today have started using lighter for striking fire on a stove whereas long time back dried grass, wood was utilized to burn fire. Study of history has helped people to understand how humans lived centuries ago. This study has enabled people to enhance their own skills and upgrade themselves to the modern techniques.

During olden times people used to send letters to communicate with people at long distances, whereas, today man is using email, mobiles phones, various sorts of messaging softwares to communicate at long distances in fraction of seconds. Studying history has helped man advance the existing technology like from invention of wheel to building automobiles that are coupled with an internal combustion engine. Continuing the use of railways as a mode of transport but making a significant advancement in the technology by enabling it to run at high speeds to commute faster to longer distances, man has proved that there has been a huge transformation in methods used for traveling faster. Without capturing photos and putting a series of these photographs to create a video, today man wouldn't get the idea of making film and projecting it on large screen.

Art forms such as music, dance, sculptures, painting, literature, films etc. are all followed and continued even today, all because of studying history and understanding how man came up with such ideas in the past. Talking over a telephone, using internet, commuting through airplanes, using GPS to navigate locations, all these are now being used by people to commute and communicate faster. All these technologies were invented by scientists in the past but the advancement in the technology has made easy for man to utilize these tools efficiently. Hence, study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.