Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts

By government officials and political experts mentioned in the argument, I will discuss based on the assumption that we are talking about the liberal democratic constitution which is a democratic government with capitalistic economy. On fundamental basis, Democracy itself a representation of the people. Democratic government is one which reflects what people wants. So the given argument proves to be false in that basic connotation itself.

The decision making on any matters be it trivial or non trivial can be classified into two ways : the first one is doing what the people wants which will cater to the welfare of all people. Second is a decision made by the oligarchical political group which will arrive to the conclusion on what is best for the people. It will be much more appropriate if we discuss both the ways of governing.

Analysing the first method, people are the roots of the nation. All leaders represent their people. Taking into account of these it is important to understand that it is very much essential for taking the subjects’ feedback and necessities as a significant criteria for decision making or the conclusion itself to be made by whosoever concern. If a bunch of natives are opposing a factory in their locality which might affect their eco system, it is mandatory for the government to get rid of the plan. At the same time, as no day comes without night , not all people’ choices ought to be the correct one. If the majority of the people thinks that women should not be educated, then the public opinion should not be endorsed.

Now bringing the second theory to spotlight, on matters that needs a diplomatic approach not a mob mindset, the decision by small group of authorities will be what the circumstance needs. If in particular locality dalits are not allowed inside the temple, it is the authority’s primary duty to decide on abolishing untouchability. Speaking of which, the same boon poses a greater threat of leading to conservative oligarchial governing suppressing the right of expression leading to fascist despotic rule the result of which will make mankind to go back to medieval period.

On weighing both the circumstances and by measuring the impact of consequence, it will be conspicuous that the decision made by the subjects of the nation or the decision that reflects the people’s need will be the one that can put a nation in the ethical and dignified path striving for both social and economic growth providing the deciding committee must comprise the representation of all people ensuring equity and equality.