There are several factors that motivate people to stay in the workforce, and money is the most important reason/factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that a great deal of driving force is required to sustain someone in the workforce. Of them, monetary reasons holds a vital place and this cannot be vetoed.

People tend to continue their current job, in spite of utmost contempt they hold towards the same. Many points the steady salary, health benefits and retirement benefits that an establishment provides as the reason behind this. It is obvious that there has been growing workplace stress and psychological disturbances in people making their living through standard employments. We can see people around us getting excited on Friday nights and extremely depressed on Sunday nights. Workplace overloads, declining work-life balance and undesirable workplace culture are contributing towards it. Yet, they are reluctant in leaving their jobs so as not to leave out the remunerations.

On the other hand, we can also see passionate people working for their organisation desperately, even when they have an option to resign. Their motivation lies on the love towards the nature of the job or the team they dwell in. Such people find their job amusing as they are driven by a goal or dream. There are also a set of people who leave their job with high salary to a much lower designation on account of learning and exploring. Their retention cannot be ensured only on financial basis. In such scenarios, money do not have a game changing position.

In all these cases, there are some which align with the given statement and there are others which do not. Perceiving it as a whole, people who are unhappy with their jobs but are compelled to continue the same to live their lives occupy most of the mankind. this makes the statement ubiquitous and agreeable.