Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system because

moral behavior cannot be legislated.

The author stated that laws cannot solve the myriad of modern society problems because moral behavior cannot be legislated. I agree with the author full heartedly. Although laws do correct many of the immoral behavior that is harmful to the society but there are many things that cannot be legislated and these things should be eradicated by the combined effort of the society.

Admittedly, there are many ways in which laws help the functioning of a healthy society. Laws do help people to live a better life by serving in various domains like catching thieves, murderers and charlatans. Without any law and order, there would be complete bedlam and chaos.

Yet, there are many pressing issues of the present society that cannot be solved by the legislation. One of the issues is the increase in the number of old age people who live alone. In many of countries, it is a significant issue as it is causing depression among many old people due to loneliness. It has aroused because life has become busy nowadays and people do have less time to spend with their parents or many people leave their parents alone because they fell that they are a burden on them. The society should encourage people to keep their parents with them or at least go and meet them on a regular basis so that old people do not feel lone.

Secondly, the school along with society should teach the children to respect other people beliefs and notions. The children should learn to treat every human with respect regardless of their creed, religion and race. These values and mores are significant for the development of any society because people should collaborate with each other in order to have a thriving society. A society in which tolerance is not encourage can have many ill effects that can lead to disastrous things such as riots and loots.

Finally, society should encourage people to be compassionate about indigent people and help them. Obviously, we cannot have a law to dictate people to help the needy people, but the cultivation of these values among masses can play a significant role in a thriving society. The affluent people should reach out to the indigent in order to assist them and give them a better life. These things are especially important in developing countries where governments are struggling to provide basic amenities to the poor. The rich people can do a plethora of things for poor such as they can build hospitals, schools and colleges.

The laws are needed for the functioning of a smooth society but there are many things in the society which cannot be addressed. The society should play a significant role in order to eradicate the moral values in people.