Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In this world, where technology is advancing day by day and has helped the people to be aware of news from all over the world, the interests of different people are not same. The user intends to see the information that is liked by him, so the technology has taken such step to provide them information of their interest only. Therefore, the mass media and internet inherently have capability to show relevant information to users.

The ability of user to sort things out is in some cases dependent upon his/her trust. It can be justified by taking the example of searching on google. When a user types keywords to search some material for him, google renders links to relevant material. Those links are huge in quantity and user picks a few to visit. From the users' past experience, he/she observes that some of the links provide quality material and others just filing the content ignoring the quality. Lets say the Dawn news has more authentic information than a web page created by an individual. The user totally gets biased towards the Dawn news because of his developed trust. In such cases the ability to sort things out are just because of his trust.

The next factor that comes into consideration is the identification of pattern within the contents. Many of the news websites put the latest information at top and corresponding background to the bottom. Once the user understands such pattern, when he/she goes through first line of background information, he/she quickly understands that the latest content has been ended. This is true for any of the content written pages. Taking another example of Wikipedia, it groups the content by its relevant heading that helps user to determine which content is of his interest.

Taking a look on the model of mass media, it inherently helps in providing the relevant content to the user. For example, Facebook. It shows the user the content of the pages that the user has liked or has shown his interest somewhere in that content. It also provides the option to discard the content that user don't like. In the web browsers, there is concept of cookies that determines the interested areas of user in particular field and then provides content only relevant to his interest.

Till now, we have observed that the user is helped by mass media and internet themselves to provide relevant content and in some cases allowing user to sort things out by understanding the patterns. However, the users' ability may not be enhanced the manual work. Lets take the example of manual accounting of users' business. In such cases, the user needs to skim through all of the entries until reaching to the entry of his own choice. But the user can take help from the concept of mass media to group relevant things together hence spending less time in sorting things out.

It can be clearly understood that the mass media and internet themselves help the user in understanding the relevant data and the user just needs to find the patterns in them to be more efficient.