Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The ideas and concepts are enables to reason about actual working of something important. The facts corresponds to history like who was involved in development of something and at what time. Although many people think that knowing about history is better because they think that it enables students to see the world progress, i believe that it is more advantageous to learn about ideas and concepts. There are several reasons for it.

Firstly, the ideas and concepts lead to practical implementation. For example, the mathematicians introduced the concept of similar triangles that is if two triangles share at least two common angles and measurement of one side is known, then one can determine the measurement of another side that is parallel to the one whose measurement is given. This concept was taught by my teacher to me in class and i understood well. Later, i was passing by a ground, where people were climbing on a ladder to measure the height of tower. It was daytime and the shadow of tower could be seen on ground. It quickly clicked the idea of similar triangles in my mind and i said them that you do not need this ladder to measure, we can do it by staying on ground. I asked one of the person to stand parallel to tower. The shadows of both the man and the tower were also parallel on ground meeting at same end point. By using the concept of similar triangles we measured shadows of man and tower and also the height of man,then we applied the directly proportional concept on them such that men's height was directly proportional to tower as shadow of man was directly proportional to shadow of tower, thus requiring no need to climb. Notice that, i don't know who introduced this concept first.

Secondly, the concepts are more important than facts. It can be clearly seen by taking example of programming languages such as C. Lets say i am writing a piece of code that calculates first thousand prime numbers. What is necessary for me to calculate such numbers is my own logic and syntax of C language. In both of these requirements, i don't need to know when C was introduced, who introduced it and how he developed this language. Therefore, it is only necessary to understand concepts apart from its history.

Finally, learning about history wastes precious time that can be given to learning about its practical use. Considering the example of a topic that is electric bulb and teacher is teaching his students about it. If the teacher starts talking about the facts that when, why and how this bulb was introduced, then it will consume a lot of class's time. On the other hand, if teacher diverts students to tell them its purpose, its voltage requirement and type of holder to use corresponding to variant of bulb, then it would be more advantageous for students.

Ultimately, i feel that learning about ideas and concepts is better because it helps in more practical implementations rather than wasting time on knowing about history of something.