A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

This argument is based on many extreme explanations. Primarily, it considers the Himalayan mountain region to be completely similar to Suburban areas of the United States.

In this world, all the people do not face exactly same atmosphere. For example, the western countries of world remain cooler throughout the year than middle eastern. Similar is the assumption seen in the argument. It might be the case that the tooth decay faced by children of suburban areas of the US are because of their weather conditions and that weather may not be faced by people of Himalayan mountain region. However, if the weather conditions are same, then there are other questions that need to be answered by the argument.

People go to the doctors not only when they have some kind of disease, they may go there for their regular checkup. The argument assumes that the people of suburban areas of US who go 1.25 times a year to dentists, go for treatment of their children tooth decay. However, they may go for the regular treatment from dentists. Such regular treatment can be the teeth cleaning.

On the bigger picture, the argument assumes the study to be completely valid. The argument fails to specify the suburban areas which have been taken into consideration of the study. The study might be conducted by the students of an institution for just fulfillment of their degrees' formality and they collected the response by questionnaire without surveying the areas themselves. In such cases, the study may not be considered to be valid.

The argument can therefore be strengthened by addressing the validity of the study with specifying the suburban areas, justifying the similarity between suburban areas of US and Himalayan mountain areas followed by evaluation of reason of suburban areas people visiting the dentist 1.25 times per year.

Therefore, it can be concluded that for this argument to be plausible, it should address the issues of validity of study and its evaluating its vague terms.