The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Culture defines ideas,customs and social behaviour of people. Here the author claims that the most efficacious way to understand culture is to analyze youth trends.But society includes people of all age groups so to understand the modern culture it is imperative to analyze`trends of youth as well as elderly people who also form significant part of our society.

To begin with, the defined age range of the term Youth varies even between countries itself eg: 15-24, 15-30 and so on. Nevertheless even if consider higher range of 15 to 30 still they form only a small part of society. So comprehensive analysis on all age groups of modern culture is must in understanding it.

Young people are more flamboyant and their fashion styles,interests and behaviour attracts the media and the media automatically create an impression that they predominantly define modern culture.In reality their beliefs,interests tend to change more frequently and few of them get to adapt it quickly than the others so it is very difficult to understand latest beliefs,customs they follow.On the other hand, when we study the elder or older age groups we could see lot of customs and beliefs which are followed till date and they form a significant part of current modern culture like thanksgiving day and other traditions etc..

On the other hand, some might even argue that Youth also influence others in following or in keeping up with their traditions For instance Social media and other technological advancements which connects people virtually. Eventhough elderly people follow them or ready to get used to them but still they are more comfortable and also inclined in following connecting with people face to face rather than virtually.One more example to quote is the pop music culture which is predominant nowadays but the elders are still inclined to the classical part of it. So if one studies only the youth they will not get the entire perspective of contemporary culture.

To recapitulate, the effective way to understand contemporary culture is to study the ideas, beliefs and customs of different age groups and not restricting to one group which appears to be predominant and which is not consistent and will lead to a obscure understanding on culture.