The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To start with, it is of utmost importance to clearly understand what contemporary means in this particular context. If the cultural norms are slightly tweaked or altered to accommodate the likings of the youth then that particular culture starts being contemporary. I am fully in favor of this argument and will be defending the same in the coming paragraphs.

First and foremost, in any society, usually, youth is the majority so they are in greater control of what exactly should be constituted as their cultural norms and values. They have the proclivity to challenge the older norms. Today's generation is anyway termed as "Gen Y" as they are more into computers, mobiles, and other latest technologies. They are becoming more digital now hence their preferences are also changing. They want to do more through digital means rather than human interactions. for that matter, we can take the example of banking solutions. We need not go much in the past; hardly 10 years ago, one was bound to visit a branch for any matter related to a bank. However, that has been minimized now, if not fully eliminated. One can perform all the necessary actions from the computer or mobile phone. A similar rule applies to e-commerce. People used to visit shops and malls to buy clothes and groceries. But now, through online stores and groceries, people like and purchase stuff online. They can choose stuff from a vast majority of the options compared to physically going to only one store and like whatever is available in that store. In the online store, within no time, you can view stuff from multiple merchants and vendors and choose whatever you like within your budget. Online music stores are no different. as the youth is more inclined to digital platforms and online shopping trends hence making it part of the contemporary cultural norms.

Secondly, people used to like regular tv shows and music concerts. Now the trend is changing as the youth is more inclined to reality tv shows and other forms of music. Programs like "America's got talent" and "Britain got talent" are increasingly popular among the youth and teens. These shows not only providing the youth with one more platform to showcase their talent, but only providing viewers an interesting entertainment avenue. In the music domain, Coke studios, powered by Coka Cola, is also setting up an excellent example. Various artists are invited to these shows to perform. By this, the quality of music is improving multifold. Again this is possible as the youth is taking an interest and making these shows successful.