The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon.

"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While author's recommendation, published in Grandview Beacon, that funding for the symphony be diminished from next year's budget seems apt, logical and promising based on the premise that symphony is now self-reliant, a closer scrutiny will reveal numerous logical flaws and will demand answers to various questions which can make the recommendation more concrete and substantial.

First and foremost, the author has readily assumed that private contributions to the symphony which were increased 200 percent last year is a consistent phenomenon. It is highly likely that this sudden inflow of funds has helped the symphony management team to organize an excellent concert-in-the-park series, thus attracting more visitors which resulted in more revenue for Grandview Symphony. The author has failed to provide any proof or assurance that the private contribution will keep coming in at the same and even higher rate so that city commissioners don't have to allocate any funds for the symphony in next year's budget. Corroborating evidence of this sort could have underscored the argument.

Secondly, the author has safely assumed that an increase in the ticket price for next year's events will generate more revenue for Grandview Symphony. Will the revised ticket price offset the cost incurred to arrange those events? In case of an affirmative answer, symphony organizers will run out funds as the ticket collection from the events will balance out the expenses. Moreover, this is very much dependent on the number of people going to attend next year's events. In case, the overall attendance goes down, the symphony is bound to face cash flow problems. Failure to cover this aspect is seriously weakening the author's recommendation.

Lastly, even if the symphony would be self-supporting, funding for the symphony from next year's budget should not be removed. Unless, a similar rule or practice is followed for other departments or organizations, only then symphony should be given the same treatment. An example or reference to a closely related scenario will definitely help the reader get convinced that funds should be stopped from next year.

To recapitulate, answers to the above-mentioned questions will make the recommendation more persuasive and substantial. Otherwise, for readers, it will rife with holes and open to debate.