When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To me, modern development should not be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings or structures. The historical context associated with those structures is way more valuable for us and generations to come. If we start replacing all the old buildings with modern infrastructure then knowledge and key information linked to those buildings, and to civilizations which constructed them, will be lost forever. This will be a huge loss as there is always so much to learn from the past.

To start with, we can take the example of Egyptian pyramids. They are centuries-old structures build by ancient Arab civilizations. Historians of current times are still figuring out how those were built in those times. Did they - people of those times - had such sophisticated construction machinery which could move those rocks and put them in such symmetrical fashion? They either had cranes similar to current times which could do such a task and any equivalent tool or technique through which they could accomplish so much. For geological scientists, these monumental structures are just like a feast. They get tremendous learning opportunities on these sites. Image the situation where these are demolished and new commercial or residential buildings are constructed, we shall lose everything thing associated with them.

Additionally, taking Collosium as an example, Romans had this huge structure built for public events. They used to have gladiators fight in the arena and people used to come, witness their bravery and applaud their fighting skills. Criminals and slaves were also kept in the underground, so-called, jails. We could know so much about those times and their way of living through this building. Though people interested in history and historical events can learn through reading books written about these civilizations, personally able to witness the same live is definitely icing on the cake.

On the contrary, these are instances, where old and ancient buildings are deteriorating and their maintenance has to be carried out so they retain their charisma and elegance. Modern techniques should be applied to keep those buildings in the same state. People visiting them should not get the feeling that something has been changed. Of course, who are in the field of studying these old buildings will obviously come to know about the changes or maintenance activity carried out, however, for the general public, it's still an asset to be preserved for generations to come.

Conclusively, preservation of historic buildings deserves a higher priority than the development of new infrastructure. Demolishing any structure will take away some link or knowledge about the era when that was constructed. This goes without saying, knowledge about nations, civilizations, and cultures is always a vital piece of information and every effort should be made to retain that knowledge.