The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth

Culture is nothing but the activities and traditions followed by a group of people in an area. These activities might vary from place to place as it depends on the people living there. I strongly agree with the prompt that the best way to comprehend these cultures is to analyse the trends of its youth for the following reasons.

To begin with, young people are the ones who will be carrying forward this economy and there is nothing wrong in the assumption that they might help understand contemporary culture. For instance, our ancestors are the ones who actually started the practice of tradition and culture; and the youth at that point of time decided to carry forward this legacy for future generations. This cycle of cultures being handed down has been going on for generations and helped in understanding them more efficiently. The point here is that by analysing the youth in a particular time, one can easily understand their cultures.

On the other hand, new cultures also take place. For instance, up until the late 1800s women weren't allowed to earn for themselves and have an individual and independent life. This culture evolved with time and now women do not seek permission to do what they want. Another fitting example would be clubbing, a culture which started among the youth very recently and this concept doesn't go well with our parents or the earlier generation. So, one can say that youth not only carries forward the legacies of the previous generation but also evolves through time to create new ones.

One can also argue that the older generation might be the best choice to comprehend the culture of a society and might be true in some cases. However, to understand the "contemporary" culture which is unique to a particular time period, one can simply follow the trends of the youth.