Most people choose a career on the basis of such pragmatic considerations as the needs of the economy, the relative ease of finding a job, and the salary they can expect to make. Hardly anyone is free to choose a career based on his or her natural talents or interest in a particular kind of work.

People in today's scenario are just considering success as their primary goal rather than the work of their interest. Therefore, they try every short cut in order to achieve success in their lives. And they achieve it by choosing a career in which they have more surety of finding a job. Hence, I concur with the author's idea that people choose their career based on the possibility of finding a job rather than the career that is best suited for a talent that a person possess or the interest has a person is having.

On the first facet, the education system that is being followed by schools and institutions are so rigid that a child does not enough opportunity to showcase his/her talent. The subjects that are being taught in the schools are based on the practicality that is the current requirement of the economy. Other important subjects like music, sports, arts or literature are often optional subjects and even the teachers of these subjects are inept. Moreover, the teachers in the schools urge children to focus on subjects based on practicality. There is a shortage of equipments available at school and even if a student has an inclination towards a particular area he/she can not practice.

Secondly, there is so much pressure from parents as they want their child to follow a path where he can achieve success in comparatively lesser time than he will achieve by choosing a career of his/her interest. For example, I was good at playing cricket and even I got selected in my state team. But, I was equally good at study and was performing well. However, my parents urge me to abdicate cricket and continue to study because they thought there is a high chance for me to get success in studies rather than pursue cricket. Moreover, peer pressure also makes you change your decision. As my performance in studies decreased my friends got ahead of me and it made me focus on studies more.

In the crux, the author's claim that people choose a career on the basis of ease of finding a job is true and even if people try to focus on their career that are driven by their talents there are other factors that do not let them to do so.