Most people recognize the benefits of individuality, but the fact is that personal economic success requires conformity.

The argument above holds two position one is that most of the people comprehend the benefits of individuality and other is despite the easy recognition for individuality an personal economic success required conformity. I concede with the argument of the author completely in regards for our current pervasive societal predicaments.

As the author states most people recognize the benefits of individuality which is absolute true. We can impute this quality of uniqueness to the extra- ordinary talent in any fields like arts, science, communication or tot he unique ideas and the action taken to implement those ideas by the individual. The most intelligent student in the class stand out because of his/ her individuality. Similar things apply to the great leaders or the famous person in the world who stand out because of their unique ideas.

But to assert these uniqueness to the individuals own benefit one must conform tot he social norms and set laws. Even if some people get away with short term benefits with their exceptional ideas and harming the society but that it not sustainable in the long term of personal benefit. Take Pablo Escobar for example, everyone knows he is a extraordinary talent individual but his ideas were used with out conformities which led to short term economic success but cost him mental peace and death at the end.

But not all existing societal norms should be accepted, they are several cases of famous individuals who came forward and did not conform with societal rules and that might not have account for quick economic personal growth but it changed the work for good. Lets take Mahatma Gandhi, Marthin King Luther Jr for example. Who came forward with defiance of conformity and changed the world's view.

In sum, to stand out of the queue it requires any individual to have some uniqueness but in order to make that individual quality acceptable in the society he/she must conform to the establish set of values in terms of law and order and make sure his idea of action does not harm anybody in the society, after all societal norms are formed to maintain the mutual respects in its beings. But this varies when it comes to the existing social problems which needs to be addressed by individuals as we have seen throughout the course of history.