The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of the

Juniper Café, a small, local coffee shop in the downtown area of a

small American city:

“We must reduce overhead here at the café. Instead of opening

at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends,

we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in

hours of operations will help save money because we won’t be

paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs

during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us

to save money and remain in business without having to

eliminate jobs.”

The statement above cites the memorandum from the owner of the Jupiter Café which indicates that in order to save his business and not eliminating jobs he want to undertake some strategy which made some unwarranted assumptions. Unless the assumptions are answered the implementation of the strategy might actually do more harm to the business instead of serving the ultimate motive.

At first the argument considers that they must reduce overheads in order to sustain the business and also they do not want to eliminate jobs, but on the other hand they are reducing working hours and clearly states that reducing working hours will reduce employee wages. Reducing employee wages in some way means to deduct salary of the employee or they will make less amount of wage a week than before, but it is not supported by any information that the employees are okay with the deduction of wages, which can in the end, result in eliminating jobs if not addressed earlier.

There is no mention of how he owner look at the economic theory of business as revenue, cost and profit. That is, the owner is only considering reducing cost to increase profit and did not take into account that reducing the business hour will actually case less amount of sales and ultimately lead to less amount of revenue which will also reduce the profit and in cases might not be ale to cover any of the overhead cost and impede the growth of the business. Beside the working hour finalized is not backed by any survey information on which the city operates. It might hold true that the small city might starts its day a bit late and maximum of the sales occur after 8 am in that case opening the store 8 am is a strategical move. But there is not such evidence to back the time section made by the owner.

The two main important thing of sustain one business is its customer service and availability. Cutting down on the working hour directly impacts the availability of the product to its customers which in the long run will impact the sustainability of the company itself. The argument directly asserts that cutting down on working hour will help save money in terms of utility, operating costs etc. it might be a good idea to check on the utility and other operating costs one by one and take a details report on this if not taken earlier to check if there are any room for changes and save any extra bucks in order to satisfy the objective of reducing overheads.

In conclusion it can be said that the argument make a lot of unstated assumptions which if goes unwarranted can render to many new problems to the business. Proper survey and information on each of the mentioned agendas are required in order tot make the informed choices to make to save the business.