“The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of the Juniper Café, a small, local coffee shop in the downtown area of a small American city:

“We must reduce overhead here at the café. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won’t be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to assess the reasonableness of both the prediction and the argument upon which it is based. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.”

The owner of the cafe states that they will now open at 8 a.m instead of 6 a.m and they will only be open from 9 a.m until 4 p.m. The owner of the cafe predicts that decrease in hours of operation will help save money and that it is the best strategy to save money and help the business to continue further in future. The owner does not provide any evidence to support the validity of the prediction. The owner does not discuss other strategies that hep in saving money. Few questions needs to be answered in order to evaluate the reasonableness of the prediction and argument.

Firstly, it needs to consider the time when the cafe is usually crowded and whether this change in timings will affect their business. If most of the customers visit the cafe after 4 p.m or before 9 a.m on weekends, then the change in the timings will decrease the profits. The owner should also take the customers' preferred timings into consideration.

Secondly, did the owner consider other strategies to save money and then came to conclusion that this is the best strategy? Did the owner took all factors into consideration before concluding that the one which owner stated is the best strategy? The answers to these questions helps in assessing the reasonableness of the prediction. If number of people who visit the cafe decrease because of the change in timings, then it would lead to decrease in profits. If employees wages are per-day basis rather than per-hour basis, then the change in timings will not help in saving money.

Thirdly, the owner needs to answer if the money saved by decreasing the hours of operations will help in increasing the profits. If the cafe suffers loss in the business despite saving money, then the stated strategy will not be considered as the best strategy.

Thirdly, there is no evidence that the proposed strategy is the best strategy for saving money. If there is evidence that most people visit the cafe during the changed timings and the change in timings will not affect customers' attraction to the cafe, then it offers support for the argument.

Finally, when all the factors are taken into consideration, it offers support for the validity of the prediction. The owner of the cafe should also state other strategies for saving money and show how the one which is stated is the best strategy. Then, it helps in assessing the reasonableness of the prediction and the argument on which it is based.