The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Jupiter Café, a small local coffee shop in the downtown area of a small American city:

"We must reduce overhead here at the café. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. on weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won’t be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs."

In his memorandum, the owner of Jupiter Café argues that reducing the overhead during the week and on weekends, would allow the Café to save money and thus to remain in business without firing any of the workers. Although the argument is not necessarily false, a few questions must be addressed to corroborate it.

First, the owner should check the hours in which the Café is most crowded, both during the week and on weekends. If, for example, it turns out that most customers come during the evening, the recommendation to close the Café at 4 p.m. could be outrightly rejected. More generally, decisions regarding the opening hours or any other related conditions must take into account their effect on the demand side: the customers, hence the sales, and hence the profits.

Second, it is important to check whether reducing overhead would indeed cut expenses, and to what extent. Rented utilities may have a global cost that does not depend on the Cafe's opening hours. The effect on wages is ambiguous as well: if the present workforce might demand to raise its wages to mitigate the reduction in their salaries, which would make the whole plan futile.

Third, the owner has to weigh the plan against other strategies, which may prove to be more beneficial. If the goal is to remain profitable and to stay in business, the Café may try to renew its menu to attract new customers, change its location to reduce specific operation costs, hire a younger and thus cheaper workforce, or open a Casino alongside the Café. All these strategies, if planned out accurately, may substitute the proposed plan.

Maintaining reasonable profit margins is vital to keep the business open. The ways to achieve this goal vary, however, and some of them may prove unhelpful, if not harmful in the long run. The owner of Jupiter Café has to answer the questions presented above to prove that the proposed plan would indeed help the Café achieve its goal. Otherwise, it would be better to refrain from making any changes in the opening hours.