Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Requiring students to spend a semester studying abroad may seem appealing at first. But at a closer look, the idea raises a few important questions, which at the outset render it problematic, if not completely irrelevant.

For one thing, the implementation of the idea is likely to be costly and cumbersome. Instead of allocating both money and time resources to promote scientific research and finance specialized educational programs, the university would have to pay for costly flights, for accommodation and for any other expenses, and to constantly deal with various bureaucratic and petty technical issues that such a program entails. When dwelling into the details, it appears not to be cost-effective.

But even if the university is able to commit to finance the program, it does not yet mean that it should do so. The primary role of the high education system is to equip students with specific instrumental capacities and theoretical knowledge, so they could later join the working force. The implied presumption of proposed idea is that is should also take care of the students' moral and intellectual character, enriching them with new experiences and providing them an opportunity to see the world. The presumption is unwarranted, though, if not totally pretentious.

The proponents of such an idea may claim that spending some time abroad may enrich students, providing them a golden opportunity to meet new people, acquaint themselves with new cultures and learn something new. The claim, however, does not seem very realistic. While abroad, students will most likely spend their nights drinking and partying, then recovering in the days. Like children in the kinder-garden and pupils in primary schools, if one is willing to oblige students to study hard, it is best to keep them close.

There are many good ways to improve the high education system. Paying higher tuition to attract qualified professors and developing new, advanced materials to better prepare the students are just two of them. With its limited resources, the university should be very prudent in deciding which programs to finance and which to reject. The one semester abroad program is not a successful one, and should thus belong to the latter group.