Governments should offer free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

High education fees rose dramatically during the last decades, making them simply not affordable for many people seeking to get a degree. To deal with the problem, it has been suggested that governments would subsidize education in the university, allowing poor students who have been admitted to study for free. Although the policy seems reasonable at first, there are several good reasons to object to it and to consider instead other strategies to assist these students.

First, in deciding whether to finance free university education, one must consider the policy's alternative costs. High education is indubitably important, but it is hardly the most vital thing the government may have to pay for. One may disagree about the specific order of priorities, but there's little doubt that high education is not the first thing on the list. Providing the poor people with food, cloth, and shelter and holding an army and an effective police force is, for sure, more important. Financing high education, especially in cases of budget deficit may hurt financing other things.

Second, the fact that there are students who cannot afford the tuition does not mean that the government should intervene. Many private organizations deal with the problem, by giving those students stipends and financial aid. These organizations possess the relevant knowledge and the experience, which government officials may not have, to use the money effectively. If the government takes the duty, it is more than likely that the financial aid programs will be handled inefficiently, which may harm the students.

Assisting students to get high education is important, and it may pay off in the long run. Some talented scientists did not have the means to afford high education, and the assistance they had received allowed them to study and excel, to the benefit of society at large. The examples of such success stories are scarce, however, and cannot justify massive government expenses.

Wide-spread university education is essential for economic and scientific progress, and it is in the interest of society as a whole that students who cannot afford tuition costs get the opportunity to obtain an academic degree. Nevertheless, making the government responsible for the program may cut its expenses on more important things, while jeopardizing the quality of the assistance programs' organization.