The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. The explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections is the use of UltraClean soap."

In his memo, the director of a large group of hospitals argues that the 20\% reduction in patient infection in the hospital in Worktown is explained by the use of the UltraClean soap. To corroborate his argument, he cites a recent laboratory study according to which the UltraClean soap produced a greater reduction in harmful bacteria. Although the causal relation the director establishes is not implausible, other explanations to the observed relation must be checked and refuted to support the argument.

First, the reduction in patient infection in the Worktown Hospital may reflect some of its specific characteristics. It may turn out, for instance, that the personnel in the hospital is more experienced or cautious, and thus provides the patients with better protection. The hospital may also be larger and contain more rooms, allowing thereby to place fewer patients in each room and reduce the chances of spreading infections.

Second, the city of Worktown may also have specific characteristics that affect infection odds. Its population may be younger and healthier than the population in other cities where the group's hospitals operate, and thus more immune to infections. Indeed, various studies indicate that good health reduces the chances to get infected, which is, in any case, a much more important factor than the specific soap used in the hospital.

Third, the fact that a test was conducted in the hospital may induce a more prudent behavior on the part of the doctors and the nurses. Although the test does not officially check their conduct, merely being supervised would probably make the personnel more alarmed. If such an explanation holds, then testing any other soap would produce similar positive results, which would have nothing to do with its particular solution.

The kind of soap used in hospitals may be an important factor in reducing patient infections. However, to prove that a specific soap is indeed better than others, a few not less plausible explanations must be ruled out. The group of hospitals would thus have to check for the city's and the hospital's specific characteristics and run additional experiments using different soaps, to exclude the possibility of any psychological effect generated by the test.