The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper.

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

The recommendation to exclude non-residents from the Committee for a Better Oak City rests on the assumption that being a resident is a prerequisite for a more accurate understating of the city's business and politics, and thus for better decision-making. However, the author did not address several important questions that must be addressed to make the recommendation valid.

First, the author seems to assume that merely working in Oak City is insufficient to have a good understanding of matters at hand. If, on the contrary, most of the Committee's decisions are directly related to the working-place issues, such as public facilities used by workers, the morning traffics in the entrance to the city or some regulations regarding the working force, the exclusion of non-residents working in Oak city will be a dubious, unfair decision. The author has to provide more information regarding the issues dealt with by the Committee.

Second, even if the committee is primarily concerned with inner problems, it may nevertheless be a mistake to exclude non-residents, who, by the dint of their more objective point of view, may contribute to a more deliberate decision-making. Indeed, people often tend to become too emotional when dealing with affairs directly affecting them, which happens more often on the local level. To support his view, the author should thus bring evidence that non-residents indeed raise irrelevant arguments and tend to reject helpful plans and decisions.

Finally, the actual duties of the Committee for a Better Oak City remain somewhat unclear. If the committee's function is merely advisory, and real decision-making rests somewhere else, excluding non-residents will probably not have any substantial effect, apart from irking those excluded committee members and impairing the City's public relations. The scope of the Committee's responsibility is thus another question the author has to address.

To sum up, the author must bring additional evidence to corroborate his recommendation: he should refer to the issues the Committee is dealing with and to its actual political mandate. He would also have to bring evidence in support of the view that non-residents have negative effect on the Committee's work. Otherwise, the recommendation would remain unpersuasive, if not potentially deleterious.