The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The author of the letter cites a recent study, according to which firstborn monkeys produce more cortisol, a stimulating hormone, to conclude that there exists a causal link between birth order and the level of stimulation. Although the proposed interpretation of the findings is not implausible, there might be other, counter interpretations that must be rebuked to corroborate the author's point. It is useful to analyze the cases presented one by one.

In the first example, only eighteen monkeys were tested. The number is hardly sufficient to make any conclusion at all, since the findings may actually reflect differences on the individual level. It may turn out, for example, that the firstborn rhesus monkeys were all previously exposed to some external conditions that later affected cortisol production. Other explanations, regarding each monkey individually, cannot be ruled out, since, as noted, the pool of observations is simply to small.

The second finding may well be explained in many other ways. The fact that firstborn kids produced more cortisol when their parents returned after an absence, may indicate that they are used to get more attention than their younger siblings, simply because they were the first to be born to their parents. Such environmental factors were shown to have lasting impact on individuals' behaviour, and should thus be considered.

As for the third example, the author's interpretation seems the most unwarranted, to say the least. The fact that first-time mothers had higher levels of cortisol tells us nothing about the cortisol levels of their offspring. One may alternatively assume that the experience of pregnancy is stressing, especially in the first time. This clearly has nothing to do with the expected cortisol production of the firstborn monkeys.

The three scientific findings cited in the letter may be more loosely related than the author seems to think. In fact, each finding can be explained in a different way, casting doubt on the author's impetuous conclusion. To prove the validity of the conclusion, the author must provide additional information, which would serve to refute the alternative explanations, such as those presented above.