Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

People have always attached great importance to learning history. To really penetrate the past and to gain a deep understanding of it, however, it is insufficient to simply observe the facts; we must engage in a creative interpretation, putting all pieces together, to tell a coherent story.

For one thing, history is not a plain collection of accumulated facts and details. Rather, it is a constructed narrative, a story, that puts events and tendencies in a chronological order, identifying causes and effects and often linking seemingly unrelated happenings. Like any other story, the historical narrative is thus intrinsically subjective, depending on the teller's experience, inclinations and worldview. From Sima Qian and Herodotus to Timothy Snider and Gertrude Himmelfarb, historians have always engaged in telling stories, sometimes proposing rivaling interpretations of the same factual events. In fact, modern historical research is full of disputes and competing schools of thought, proving that nothing is settled indeed.

It is not only narrative that makes history subjective, though. In some instances, especially when dealing with the distant past, many historical details, from archaeological artifacts to written documents, are scarce or missing altogether. In other cases, it seems that the meaning attached to those artifacts and documents has changed dramatically through the ages, which may obscure their true importance. In all those cases, imaginative interpretation is vital to make any progress in historical research to further advance our understanding of the past. Objective account is then simply not an option.

It is not to say that there is no historical truth, so that one can simply make up a story without providing any substantial evidence to support his view. It does mean, however, that a purely truthful history, a mere collection of facts, is not history at all. To engage in historical research and learning, we must look beyond - we must think and create and imagine, not simply recite the same facts over and over again. Great historians, from Sima Qian and Herodotus to Timothy Snider and Gertrude Himmelfarb, understood it perfectly well.

People love history, because history if interesting and illuminating and engaging. But learning history is an intricate endeavour, as it demands not only a rigorous memorization of facts, but because it behooves us to think imaginatively, which is never easy. But if successful, it allows us to learn something new, and to better understand our past, if not our present and future.