The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

The argument put forward by the president of Humana University and the following recommendation links the establishment of online degree programs with increasing enrollment and cutting expenditures, based on the experience of the nearby Omni University. The recommendation may actually be effective, but some questions are to be answered to make the argument reasonable as a whole.

First, one must look for the actual causes of the recent increase in the number of students enrolling in online programs in Omni University. It may to turn out that the university has made several reforms in the curriculum that made the offered programs more attractive to students. Maybe, the university hired highly popular professors, increasing thereby its enrollment rates. Unless the question is properly addressed, one could not establish a causal link proposed by the president of Humana University.

Second, one would also have to prove that the lower expenditures on dormitory and classroom spaces are the result of the high enrollment in online programs. If the number of students attending the Omni University campus has actually increased, that would rebuke the president's argument. In such a case, an alternative explanation of the lower expenditures may be that the university hired a new, cheaper maintenance company or combined several groups in the same class, reducing thereby the number of classes to keep order in. Such explanations must be ruled out to make the argument reasonable.

There are many avenues for increasing enrollment while simultaneously reducing expenditures. The experience of Omni University may be relevant in such case, but only insofar as the causal link between the online courses on the one hand and high enrollment and low expenditures on the other, is indeed accurate. Otherwise, the president's recommendation is unwarranted, and may in fact harm the university, if hastily applied.