"Scientific theories, which most people consider as fact, almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus one should look upon any information described as ’factual’ with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future."

The ongoing scientific research in the various fields produces vast amounts of new information, ranging from novel theories to detailed descriptions of a particular, if not esoteric scope. Although not any piece of information should be unquestionably accepted, scientific publications, in general, should be treated positively, rather than with suspicion and skepticism. Such an attitude reflects an accurate understanding of both the essence of science and the way it generates knowledge.

Modern science is an inductive system, based on constructing theories and testing them empirically. The conduct of the second, empirical phase is seemingly paradoxical: a scientist can refute a theory if it is contradicted by the evidence, but he can never actually prove that the theory is veracious since he can never rule out the possibility that such contradicting evidence would never appear in the future. Refusing to accept a credible scientific theory because it may prove to be inaccurate is thus like refusing to drive a car because something might go wrong. Yes, something might go wrong, but you should somehow reach your destination.

In evaluating any theory, one should keep in mind that modern scientific research, unlike its ancient predecessors, is subject to rigorous rules and procedures, and is conducted in a relatively competitive environment that punishes bad research. Lending credit to scientific articles, at least those published in respected journals, is not a vice, therefore, but rather a humble recognition of one's limited knowledge and a show of respect to those who have obtained this knowledge in a prolonged, demanding process.

It should be taken for granted that like all other human beings, scientists do make mistakes. After all, modern research subsumes a vast range of highly complicated topics, themes, and ideas, and there exists a certain limit to one's ability to always get it right. In some cases, when a piece of information seems absurd, one should rather treat it with healthy skepticism, though not outrightly reject it. However, suspecting any scientific theory as a general rule, even if there exists a handful of evidence supporting it, is an obdurate, if not harmful attitude.

For sure, scientific research is never flawless, sometimes one can hardly call it outstanding. Accepting scientific research is nevertheless vital for any society since it allows society to solve various problems and ameliorate living standards. In such cases, good, if not excellent, results, is just what we need.