Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The writer contends that although inoculations against cow flu may substantially reduce mortality rates, the fact that some individuals may die as a result of inoculation should hinder its routine administration, even in areas where the disease is detected. Although the argument is not implausible, some additional evidence must be provided to make it sound and reasonable.

First, the mortality rates as a result of the inoculation should be compared with the mortality rates from the disease itself. If the latter is significantly higher, it would make sense to vaccinate as many people in the infected areas as possible. Put differently, the writer should acknowledge the simple logic that if the medicine is less harmful than the malady, it should be implemented even if the risk for some casualties does exist.

Second, death and complete recovery may not, for sure, be the only two possible outcomes of the cow flu. If a relatively high rate of infected individuals is expected to experience severe and long-lasting post-flu complications, then inoculations may be considered even if their mortality rate exceeds that of the flu. The writer must thus provide more information regarding the probabilities to develop severe symptoms after, and not only during, the recovery.

Third, the author does not account for the specific characteristics affecting the probability that an individual will die as a result of the inoculation. If it turns out, for example, that only old people are at risk of dying after receiving a vaccine, a plausible solution would be to vaccinate only the younger population, reducing thereby the infection rates and providing fair protection even to those who have not been vaccinated. The same reasoning holds for the information regarding the cow flu itself. If children and young adults are not at risk to develop severe symptoms and dying from the infection then one might consider vaccinating only the older population.

Curbing the spread of dangerous infectious diseases is similar to mastering armies and going to war: some strategies may prove to be effective, while others may turn out to be futile, if not menacing. To make the right choice, the writer must supplement his argument with relevant information, regarding both alternatives: the routine administration of inoculations against flu, and eschewing inoculations due to the high risks they entail, and searching for other ways to stymie the deleterious disease.