The purpose of many advertisement is to make consumer want to buy a product so that they will be like the person in the ad. This practice is effective because it not only sells the product but also helps people feel better about themselves.

The argument asserts that many advertisement project their content in such a way that the consumer feel like having those products as they see themselves being like the people. While it is true that it the case in many advertisement I do not concede with the statement that this is the effective way to sell a product and also strongly oppose the statement that this helps people to feel better about themselves.

Firstly, our society in current days are facing a lot of issues which concerns about people not being able to accept themselves as they are. They continuously are looking towards at every steps in their life and trying to project themselves as the role model they are following. These ongoing tendency of humans from generations also have an impact on judging other people as well. This very tendencies of following others and not accepting oneself is giving rise to predicaments and social issues like sexism, racism, body shaming, oppression. Society have set a standard of beauty and acceptance for other people and every one is fighting relentlessly to fit that standard loosing the essence of uniqueness in personality. People able fit themselves in the standard and other people unable to do that feel low and not confident about themselves. This loss of confident in the long run make them loose in every battle of their own life. So, must accept themselves as they are and take pride in their own uniqueness rather than feeling good by comparing themselves with other persona.

Maximum advertisement now a days showcase models along with their products to make it more appealing tot he customers. While there is nothing wrong with presenting products beautifully and in front of customers, other factors such as the products unique selling point, proper usage guidance and reason why should the product be used in place of other competitor product in the market will be more helpful for the customers for making informed choices about the products. For example, a soap commercial should emphasis on this product uniqueness form others in the market, along with its manufacturing content, so that people know that no harmful products are used, rather than only showing how beautiful the person will look like that in the advertisement, which everyone already knows will never happen.

Advertising practice now a days are changing and as we can see the out of the box thinking and creative marketing is very much appreciated in the consumer market. The conscious of people which is already impaired by the shown advertisement about the living standard have caused a great problem to the society. Several social issues can be imputed to this very trend of marketing.

In sum, rather than promoting standard way of life and look of a person show people to accept themselves as they are and the advertised products will help them build confidence and showcase their unique talent should be the way to go forwards with advertisement marketing. This change in marketing strategy will let people rely more on the product as people now a days are smart enough to catch the lie in the commercials.