The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above argument states about Movies Galore declining profit and suggest some ideas in order to generate profit. But the suggestion proposed have made some unwarranted assumptions, unless the assumptions are outlined clearly there are high chance that the implementation of the ideas in the desire to make profit will yield more loss and make permanent damage on the business rather than increasing profit.

The argument understands that to generate more profit operational expense needs to be curtailed but the argument fails to acknowledge that more sales with revenue also contributes in increasing profit. It has been stated that one of the store has reduced it working hours and also it has reduced it inventory. Both the activity have immense impact of the business itself. Since all the business run on some of the unique selling products, which in majority cases includes customer service availability and product availability. Going to shop if a customer face availability issues and gets only 3 of its 5 desired products the customer eventually will move towards other shop where he can find all the product he desired at one place. This might have a serious impact on business in the long run and the sustainability of the company will be questioned based on its impaired market reputation unavailability of products. So to decide whether to keep 5 years old released DVD to reduce inventory cost the company must make a survey on whether those DVD's are still on demand. Because in case of movies there are still loads of old cinema's people look for. So, a proper survey and listing of product demand is a must before getting rid of older one.

Secondly the passage states about limiting the service hour of he shop. This solely depends on the locality it is serving. If the entire locality sleeps on 6 pm, then there is no point in keeping the store open till 9pm. Life style varies from one stated or locality to another. In some areas working hour ends at 6 pm - 7 pm and people reach out to stores after that time to have a good movie DVD for their night to enjoy. Since the trend of people vary so without proper information reaching to any conclusion regarding the working hour will be imprudent since these will impact the direct sales and any loss of sales is a loss in revenue and ultimately a declining profit for good.

The argument states that low price is their specialty and that is why thy cannot raise their price. Well low price is a ostensible term which is dependent on the product prices of the competitor as well. There is no other information on the competitors prices nor there is information when the price of this very product were set. It could be one of the scenario that the product prices were set before 10 years ago as when the price difference between them and their competitor was 10 bucks and now it is 100 bucks which call for immediate actions and a raise in price since the business cannot sustain at any low cost where the service, utility and commodity prices raised and also increasing the employee salary as well.

To sum up we can say that unless the argument clearly states the evidence supporting its claim to reduce the working hour, inventory reduction and no price increase policy any further steps in implementing these policy will have long term impact in the business. So these unstated assumptions calls for answer which will help take the right decision to increase profitability and sustainable business.