In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

With the dawn of computers and artificial intelligence, many mundane occupations have become outmoded. The professionals who will retain their jobs are those with strong imaginative skills, who can apply their previous experience and background knowledge to novel situations. However, this background knowledge is incredibly important; imagination is only a tool to apply previous experience to novel situations, but having a strong foundation in background knowledge is far more important to success in many fields.

Before most professionals can begin practicing in their intended field, they must devote years to gaining background knowledge. Medical doctors must have some degree of imagination to deal with new cases, but to even begin to understand what is happening in the body requires years of intense study and a staggering amount of background information. This knowledge is not innate, and requires a great deal of effort to learn, while imagination can often come naturally.

Furthermore, professionals who have a strong background of prior experience in the field can often get away without being especially imaginative. Take, for example, a civil engineer working at a consulting firm. While there is some degree of creativity involved in solving new problems, what often makes professionals stand out is their wealth of prior experience and ability to recognize patterns from old problems, which primarily comes with knowledge and experience.

While knowledge trumps imagination in many technical fields, disciplines such as the arts and literature are far more dependent on imagination. There are many examples of pianists and artists who succeed and drive innovation in their fields while being entirely self taught and lacking formal training. It is often quite helpful to have an understanding of previous work in the field for success, but the arts provide a rare case where previous knowledge can sometimes hamper creativity and limit expression if individuals are influenced heavily by old works. Therefore, imagination is crucial to success.

Imagination and knowledge work hand-in-hand in most fields, as people use prior knowledge and experience as a launching point to develop new ideas, works, and solutions. Truly successful professionals possess both knowledge and imagination, but the degree to which each is valued true varies by profession.