In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Unquestionably, both a rich imagination and the establishment of profound knowledge plays a critical role in the advancement of most professions and academic fields. Some people say that imaginative power is more important than accumulation of knowledge, while others do not, and both sides may have their own reasons to support their views. In my opinion, extensive learning is more significant than imagination to achieve the academic development. There are several reasons why I disagree with the given statement as follows.

Admittedly, in the history of professions and academic fields, most eminent achievements could not be existed without the accomplishers’ brilliant ingenuity. To push back the frontier of academic fields, people should find a breakthrough to settle the unsolved problems in each field, and contrive innovative and unconventional methodologies. Most praiseworthy exploits begin from seemingly simple, but sparkling ideas, and such a novelty could not be attained without a flexible imaginative power. For example, artificial neural networks have been recently spotlighted in the field of artificial intelligence and pattern recognition. This notion was invented by psychologist Frank Rosenblatt in 1958, and it is inspired by the structure of neurons in human brains. Artificial neural networks have started to draw attention by their outstanding performances in the field of supervised learning, such as image classification and sequence recognition. This idea seems simple and intuitive, but it would not been able to developed as a state-of-the-art technique in the field of artificial intelligence without Rosenblatt’s ingenuity. For these reasons, imagination plays an important role in a majority of professions and academic fields.

However, those creative ideas cannot contribute to the advancement of professions and academic fields with the absence of basic knowledges. In the case of academic fields, researchers publicize their works in the form of articles, journal papers, or presentations in conferences. For the publication of their new studies, they should refine their notions into pithy and clear language for precise expression of opinions and readability, and this procedure normally requires a profound understanding of background knowledges in related fields. To be specific, let me adduce an example of researches in mathematical sciences. There are celebrated seven open problems in mathematics, known as Millennium problems. Even reading articles discussing such unsolved problems is regarded as an impossible task without any relevant preliminary knowledges. Moreover, it is preposterous to challenge those problems with no insight and understanding of relevant works. Hence, the accumulation of sufficient knowledges should be preceded the spread of imaginations to fathom the recent developments of the target problem and to express one’s opinion succinctly and precisely.

In brief, even though creativity and brilliant ideas are significant in the advancement of professions and academic fields, profound establishment of pertinent knowledges plays a more important role in their developments for the reasons I have mentioned above. All in all, the importance of building necessary knowledges cannot be underestimated in the pursuit of success in most professions and academic fields.