A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is the key to the prosperity of a country and well-designed curriculums are important for a successful education. To ensure students of a country to receive the best education, it is understandable that the country will make use of its best education talent to design a well-rounded curriculum for all students before they enter college. However, this methodology also has its drawbacks and may not be the best choice for all the students.

A well-designed national curriculum has a lot of benefits. It enables the country to provide the best quality education to its students. The best education professionals of the country can collaborate to work on a well-rounded curriculum and makes it available to all the students within the country. On top of that, it will ensure all the teachers will be able to follow the same training and standard from the best so they can provide the best teaching to the students. Compare to a chaotic education system where teachers of different levels of credentials to design their own curriculum, a national curriculum will greatly improve the standard of education to the mass public and benefit the country as a whole.

In addition to that, a national curriculum also makes it relatively fair for students of different backgrounds to have access to higher education. Because every student is educated in a similar way, their exposure to knowledge and the level of training they received will be comparable. It is easier to select the more talented students given everyone is educated in a similar way and it puts students from less developed areas at less disadvantage. The overall fairness of this education system will make people more united and it is beneficial for a country.

However, this system also has its flaws. Not every student is the same and not everyone has the same goal in their lives. A national curriculum that focuses on STEM is not the best choice for the students whose interests are in art and sports. These students may struggle in the national curriculum and they will not have the energy to fully develop their interests and talents.

In summary, a national curriculum has a lot of merits in general. It works best for the interests of the majority of the country's population. However, this rigid education system will not work for every student. Alternatives for special cases should be available to make it a well-rounded education system.