The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should, therefore, allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising

The memo argues that an increased percentage of positive reviews and a reduced number of viewers of the Super Screen-produced movies indicates that the company should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. Before we can reach a conclusion for this argument, there are three issues we need to address.

Firstly, we need to analyze if the movie from last year received fewer viewers despite a higher percentage of positive reviews because of its nature. It could because the movie itself only caters to a small group of viewers. It is common that some movies that cater to a small group of viewers have high reviews. For instance, horror movies, because a lot of people simply cannot watch horror movies, even a good horror movie does not have a large number of viewers. It is little related to the budget that the marketing department received. If the company wants to improve the number of viewers, it should focus on making a movie that can attract more viewers.

Secondly, there is little information provided about the timing of the movie being displayed in the movie theater. It is nothing new that when more than one good movie is being displayed in the movie theater at the same time, each will lose a little market share because of the competitiveness of the market. If last year's movie were displayed at the same time with some other big hits on the big screen, then the reduced number of viewers does not reflect a lack of funding of the market department.

Thirdly, we also need a more comprehensive analysis of the operation of the marketing department last year. If we assume the reduced viewers were caused by marketing. What exactly went wrong? Was a lack of marketing presence responsible or a poorly designed marketing strategy responsible? If the marketing department already had enough funding but simply did not have a good marketing strategy or simply carried out its strategy poorly, then better training for the marketing department is more urgent than allocating more money to the marketing department.

In summary, the memo presented a limited analysis of the issues that need to be addressed. We need more information regarding the three issues mentioned above in order to reach a well-informed decision.