The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

In the memorandum, the president argues that Humana University should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni University in order to grow and solve the problem of budget deficits. To support this conclusion, the memorandum mentioned that enrollment at Omni University’s online program increased by 50 percent last year, and at the same time, Omni University’s expenditures for dormitory and classroom space decreased greatly. The memorandum further pointed out that in the last three years, Humana University failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings increased. The president’s argument seems convincing at first glance, but its conclusion is based on three unwarranted assumptions that were not supported by concrete evidence.

Firstly, the president assumes that the decrease of Omni University’s expenditures for dormitory and classroom space was directly linked to the increased enrollment in its online program and did not provide any tenable evidence to back up his point. The decreased expenditure may be a result of other reasons. It is possible that Omni University adopted a new way of maintaining the dormitory and classroom space and it turned out to be a smart move. Without evidence indicating the real reason behind Omni University’s decreased expenditure in maintaining its dormitory and classroom space, it is premature to rule out other possibilities.

Secondly, the president assumes that increased enrollment in online programs at Omni university boosted its income. It is possible that Omni University is actually losing money on its online programs. Online programs require significant investment in the infrastructure and it may take years to see the investment be paid off. If the online programs at Omni University are actually losing money and Humana University repeats what Omni University does, instead of solving the problem of budget deficits, it may make Human University's financial problem worse.

Thirdly, the president based his conclusion on the assumption that if Humana University initiates its online programs, they will receive the same success the Omni University is seeing. Without analyzing the academics of two universities and their student body, it is premature to make this conclusion. It is possible that Omni University is famous for its education on math and literature and most of its online programs focus on math and literature related subjects. These programs require a lot of independent studies and attending classes on campus does not have its advantage over attending classes online. However, Humana University is renowned for its Nature Science departments and most of the subjects require students to do experiments in laboratories. If this is true, online programs initiated by Humane University are less likely to be as appealing as the online programs provided by Omni University.

To sum up, the president’s argument is not sound and valid given how little evidence is provided. To better evaluate the argument, it is necessary to provide convincing evidence and a thorough analysis of Omni University’s online program.