Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Sincere and insightful critical judgments are of great value to work in any given field. The people who listen to these critiques will benefit tremendously. However, too often, we have seen too many critiques from people with different backgrounds. These critiques usually have very different opinions and can sometimes cause confusion. So it is not surprising to see the prompt argue that critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field. In my opinion, this argument is true on some occasions while being invalid on others because of the following reasons.

It is true that in a lot of cases, the only valid critical judgments come from experts in the field. For instance, in order to improve a highly complicated scientific research program like a nuclear program, only the opinions of the experts in the field should be considered. These experts have a deep understanding of the field, can accurately identify the challenges the program is facing, and can provide insightful critical judgments to the program in order to improve its performance. It will be ridiculous if the program listens to critiques not from an expert, as not only these judgments will likely provide no constructive advice but may also lead the program into a hazardous state.

However, on the opposite end of the spectrum, there are cases in which everyone’s critique is as important. For movies, the public’s opinions on the subject are often much more important than the opinions of the critics and it is not uncommon to see a movie to be extremely popular among viewers while not being appreciated by the critics and vice versa. When people go to see a movie, they often rely on review websites like IMDB and Rotten Tomato where other movie goers post their reviews. Although these sites also have expert reviews of the movie, their judgments are often overwhelmed by the average movie goer’s reviews. A lot of times, people go to see a movie just based on the recommendation of someone they know rather than reviews.

In other cases, critical judgments from both experts and average people are important. When a mobile application is designed, the team must listen to the critiques from both software engineering experts and its users and all these opinions are of great importance to the success of the project. The expert may provide great advice on the architecture and system design of the application and this is critical to the function of the application. At the same time, the user’s feedback is equally important as it provides a lot of useful information to the team on how to make the application more user friendly.

In summary, there are cases in which only opinions from experts should be considered while there are cases in which critical judgments from people even without the expertise and experience are highly valuable.