Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising venues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The memorandum argues that the television station's late-night news program should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level in order to attract more viewers and to avoid losing more advertising revenue. This is because the television station devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news over the past year. During the same period, most of the complaints they received were concerned with its coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during their late-night news program canceled their contracts with the station. Before we can reach a conclusion of this argument, there are four critical issues we need to address.

Firstly, it does not address if the overall viewership of the late-night news program decreased. Understandably, viewers that primarily concerned weather and local news may find the newer late-night news program less attractive than it used to be. However, it is possible that more viewers were attracted to the late-night news program because of the increased coverage of the national news. If the overall viewership increased in the past year, the argument will be weakened.

Secondly, if the overall advertising revenue for the late-night program decreased? If the late-night news program attracted more advertising revenue primarily from larger, national companies, then losing local business contracts is not something the television station should worry too much about.

Thirdly, if the overall complaints from its viewers increased? Although most complaints over the past year were from viewers who care about weather and local news, overall complaints from viewers decreased, especially from viewers whose primary interests are national news. The move of devoting more time to national news is still a success.

Fourthly, the late-night news may not be the best time for views that are most interested in weather and local news. The majority of them may prefer a different broadcasting time for weather and local news. If news programs of the same station broadcasted as the different time that focus on local news and weather has significant higher viewership than the old versioned night-time news program and the station received overall more endorsement from local business over the past year, the argument will be greatly weakened.

In summary, there are four critical questions that need to be answered before a conclusion can be made on the argument proposed in the memorandum. Before that, the argument is ungrounded.