As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Technology plays an increasingly important role in our lives. The pace of advancement of technology is becoming faster and faster and we rely more and more on technology to solve problems. Therefore, some people argue that the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

This argument is not without ground. Surely we see more and more technology being used in our work and lives and it takes care of a lot of things for us. If we want to do a calculation, we can use a calculator instead of doing it manually. If we have a question, we no longer need to study and analyze to get an answer. We can simply search for an answer online. With the amazing improvement of machine learning, the computer can solve some of the hardest problems better than the smartest human being. For example, AlphaGo beat the best professional Go players in the world. It seems like technology makes thinking and analyzing unnecessary for humans.

However, if we look deeper, we may find this is not true. Surely the existence of technology makes it no longer necessary for humans to think and analyze certain problems. It does not mean that humans are not analyzing and solving intellectually challenging problems. When deciding which algorithm is best at solving a practical problem, it is the engineer that makes the decision. When evaluating the strategy and evidence for a case, it is the attorney that makes the decision to best defend the party being represented. When taking stunning photos, it is the photographer that chooses the best angle and timing. Although technology certainly plays an important role in our lives, the ability of humans to think cannot be replaced.

In addition, the advancement of technology makes it possible for humans to think about problems that did not exist or were not solvable. If the internet does not exist, there will be no search engines for web pages, and thus there will be no need for a faster and more accurate algorithm. If high definition TV does not exist, engineers will not need to develop technology for a higher resolution camera. If humans cannot build a rocket that can fly into space, there will be no need for scientists to calculate the best trajectory for launching a rocket. If anything, the availability of technology opens doors for humans to fields that were not accessible and enable humans to think better and smarter.

Technology plays a critical role in today’s human activities. The advancement of technology enables humans to think more freely and more creatively than ever before. People should not be worried about the technology but rather embrace it and use it to open a world with more imagination and more critical thinking.