A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

No two students are alike, then why should their curriculum be? The given prompts suggests that all the students should study a same national curriculum until they enter college. In my opinion this is should not be promoted because of the following three reasons.

To begin with, research has shown that diverse environment leads to a more innovative spirit. If the imaginative minds of students are confined inside a fixed and rigid curriculum, it would leave a little to no scope for "outside the box" thinking. If every student is exposed to the same problems, then there would be no one thinking about the new problems or coming up with solutions to solve different problems that they might face in the future. Lets say, a student faces problem in solving a math problem, then everyone would be helping to solve only math problem even if they decide not to pursue mathematics in college. So the resources that will be available for different subjects would be scarce as compared to mathematics, which not everyone will be pursuing.

Further, a majority of a students are determined enough to know which career path they will be following, and hence have a very specific learning journey in mind. For example, a student might be sure that she would be pursuing data science and would therefore require a program that focuses on statistics, mathematics and programing. However, at the same time another student might be interested in pursuing a career in politics and therefore, would require a program that focuses on social sciences. And since both of these programs lie at the opposite ends of a spectrum, it would be difficult to encorporate them in a single curriculum, and even if they did, it would be cumbersome for every student to be able to follow such a rigorous subjects at onces.

On the other hand, some might say that judging the capabilities of students on a fixed scales will promote equality and will ultimately reduce the number of resources that will have to be allocated to educational institutes. However, to paraphrase Einstein, " if you judge a fish by its ability to climb tree, it would lead uts entire life thinking that it is stupid", as this would not do justice to those students whose interested learning path are not included in the curriculum. For instance, a student might be interested in pursuing humanities as a career, but because of comparitively low demand for arts or humanities, the educational institute might be reluctant to add humanities in the curriculum and thus the student would then have to take up on a curriculum that does not quench his thirst and would not be able to perform wholeheartedly. Therefore, students should be free to curate their own curriculum based on their interests and passions and a nation should not dictate their curriculum until college.